HUNTINGDONSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting of the COUNCIL held in the CIVIC SUITE (LANCASTER / STIRLING ROOMS), PATHFINDER HOUSE, ST MARY'S STREET, HUNTINGDON PE29 3TN on Wednesday, 26 March 2025

- PRESENT: Councillor S R McAdam Chair.
 - Councillors T Alban, B S Banks, M L Beuttell, A Blackwell, S Cawley, E R Butler, S Bywater, B S Chapman, S J Conboy, S J Corney, S J Criswell, L Davenport-Rav. D B Dew, S W Ferguson, I D Gardener, C M Gleadow, J A Gray, K P Gulson, J E Harvey, M A Hassall, S A Howell, N J Hunt, M Kadewere, P Kadewere, D N Keane, J E Kerr, C Lowe, R Martin, B A Mickelburgh, D L Mickelburgh, J Neish, Dr M Pickering, B M Pitt, T D Sanderson, D J Shaw, R A Slade, S L Taylor, I P Taylor, D Terry, C H Tevlin, S Wakeford and N Wells.
- APOLOGIES: Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors R J Brereton, M J Burke, Catmur, J Clarke, A E Costello, A R Jennings and P A Jordan.

76 PRAYER

Jon Randall, Vicar of Huntingdon opened the meeting with a prayer.

77 MEMBERS' INTERESTS

No declarations were received.

78 PROPOSED CONFERMENT OF THE TITLES OF HONORARY ALDERMAN: SECTION 249: LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972

By way of a report by the Elections and Democratic Services Manager (a copy of which is appended in the Minute Book) the Council was reminded that they had agreed to introduce titles of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen for current and future Members of the Council who cumulatively had served a minimum of 12 years as an elected Councillor on the District Council.

The Chair invited former Councillors R West and D Tysoe to join the meeting, whereby each were invited to approach the dais. Following tributes from across the Chamber to Mr West and Mr Tysoe for the contribution they had made to public life and the community of Huntingdonshire, the former Members thanked the Council for their awards.

The Chair presented them with a certificate in recognition of the title of Alderman and insignia respectively to be worn on occasions when required to attend civic functions on behalf of the Council. Whereupon, it was that, in sincere appreciation of distinguished public service, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon former Councillors R West and D Tysoe in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Chair